The Role of the Governors

Expectation of governing bodies and their leadership is significant. OFSTED are clear about the importance of strong, effective leadership. Governors are appointed by a variety of means, but once appointed are expected to be of equal status and responsibility. They play a vital role as the school works through the difficult environment common to much of the public sector, which is how to deliver continuing improvement whilst managing within a diminishing financial resource. Being a member of the governing body requires knowledge of both board-level strategic leadership skills and corporate governance.

The Brodetsky Governing Body is made up of 10 members; 6 members are appointed by the Brodetsky Foundation Trust, 1 member is the Head Teacher, 1 member is appointed by the Local Authority, 1 member is an elected member of staff and 1 member is an elected parent governor. There is also scope for the governing body to co-opt 4 additional members for a year, should it be required. Currently there are 4 subcommittees of the governing body, to which certain functions are delegated. The structures of the committees and chairs (in bold) are below:

Pupil Support: Lisa Baker, Jason Broch, Sharon Bhogal and Lindsay Seaton;
Teaching & Learning: Lisa Lee, Jason Broch, Susy Jagger, Sharon Bhogal and Rebecca Skolnick;
Resources: Carolyn Glynn, Henry Cohen, Susy Jagger, Manjit Hare and Lindsay Seaton;
Limmudei Kodesh: Dan Cohen, Jason Kleiman, Jonathan Straight, Sagi Yechezkel, Susy Jagger, Lindsay Seaton and Louisa Simons.

It is expected that each governor will be part of one or more of these subcommittees as part of fulfilling the role.

The current membership of the Brodetsky Governing body is:

Dr. Jason I Broch, Chair of Governing Body  (Foundation Governor)
Mrs. Carolyn Glynn, Vice Chair & Chair of Resources (Foundation Governor)
Mrs. Lisa Baker, Chair of Pupil Support (Local Authority Governor)
Cllr. Dan Cohen, Chair of Limudei Kodesh (Foundation Governor)
Mr Adam Baxter (Foundation Governor)
Rabbi. Jason Kleiman, (Foundation Governor)
Mr. Henry Cohen, (Foundation Governor)
Miss. Susy Jagger, Executive Head Teacher
Mrs. Lisa Lee,  Chair of Teaching and Learning (Parent Governor)
Mrs. Rebecca Skolnick, (Staff Governor)

Governors’ full statutory information

Governing Body information

Governing Body attendance at meetings

Governors’ pen portraits

Dates of meetings can be found on the upcoming events calendar.

Governor Meeting Minutes

18th July 2019 Minutes

28th March 2019 Minutes

13th December 2018

11th October 2018 Minutes

27th September 2018 Minutes

Governing Body Documents

Annual Governor Statement Brodetsky – September 2018

For anyone interested on how to become a Governor please email our Chair of Governors, Jason Broch.